Skeleton friend


I was playing an RPGMaker game that took place in an abandoned apartment building, it started off in a hallway with with an odd design, like a right facing fork with two long spears. It featured some doors numbered one through eight, and unnumbered doors on the top left and bottom. It also featured a silent ambience and some quiet stepping sound effects.

I went through the first unnumbered door, which lead to me solving a puzzle I do not recall, after I did this I headed to the bottom room behind the bottom door. I wound up at the right of another hallway where my path was blocked by a small sprite of a skeleton with a large eyeball for a head asking me to do another puzzle, this room had torn paintings on the walls. After I fulfilled its request, it disappeared and a drawer on the left of the room moved, revealing a hidden door, but I decided to ignore it.

I resetted the game and went straight to the hallway at the bottom. The skeleton was nowhere to be found, the door was still blocked by the drawer, the door I entered seemed to stop working too as the game muted all of its sound. I was stuck completely alone in that room with torn paintings after abandoning the one friend I found.

At this point, a pop-up featuring a cartoonish television displaying a monochrome image of a crying woman with long black hair covering her face, this is where it all ended.

When I first woke up and started writing it down for the first time, I realized the woman's face wasn't covered at all, she wasn't crying, her face was in full view, she was smugly grinning ear to ear.